The face veil – what children think

 

I see women with veils at a few places, but mostly on streets walking along the pavements and when I look out of the car window.  When I see women with veils I think they look scary because I only see their eyes staring and it scares me.  Even if I’m scared people should wear what they want.  People should be fine if women wear veils.  People should not force them to take it off and stop wearing it.

I wonder how the women in veils breathe, drink and eat.  I wonder if they get hot when it is really sunny.  I do think it is rude when people don’t show their face when they are talking because you can’t see their emotions.  You can’t see if they are angry, sad, embarrassed, jealous, scared, happy, excited and surprised.  But I would talk to a woman in a veil.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shaista Gohir
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 15:18:10

    Congratulations Aaliyah on your first blog. Your mummy is proud of you.

    Reply

  2. Asjad
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 18:20:45

    That is great. I am very proud of you and continue writing more blogs

    Reply

  3. kalsoom
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 19:07:02

    I really like the way you have presented different views. Of course people should be able to wear what they like- people should not be able to force women to wear the veil or remove it. As a muslim though, if what we are wearing is scaring other people or people feel threatened by it, perhaps it’s not the best way of spreading peace.

    Reply

  4. Parveen hassan
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 19:29:31

    Well done Aaliyah, your writing is bold and sincere.. Keep writing and share them with others.

    Parveen Hassan

    Reply

  5. Radwa
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 12:56:24

    Aaliyah,

    I loved your opinions. Well done. It is very healthy to share your thoughts with others. Especially if they are worth sharing! Keep that up.

    From Cairo,
    Radwa

    Reply

  6. Iram Sattar
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 17:37:15

    Well done Aaliyah! I’m very proud of you and really like what you have said. I look forward to more blogs from you.

    Reply

  7. Ash
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 20:35:21

    The grown-ups could learn from you.

    Reply

  8. Riz Gohir
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 12:40:09

    First, I must declare that there may be a conflict of interest here.
    This is my lovely neice 🙂

    Aaliyah, if I was your teacher, I’d give you 10/10 and star to go with it.
    But’ I’m not 😦
    But, what I can give you is ” an ice cream in a cone, with a flake, with some juice and green and pink sprinkles” :-)))))

    Keep blogging honey… love you

    Reply

  9. Ruby Raza
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 01:26:00

    Intelligent girl….well done…!!

    Reply

  10. Dina Kamal
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 06:44:13

    It was nice to find a bold little girl who is willing to express her views, but then like mother like daughter.
    but frankly i didn’t like it when u said that u find veiled women scarey. maybe coz i am veiled myself and i wouldnt like ppl thinking that i look scarey.
    anyway hope others learn that it is personal freedom to wear whatever a person wants and that it has nothing to do with him or her being a good person or not.
    good luck

    Reply

  11. Shabana Rehman
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 23:08:47

    Dear
    Thanks for yor blog
    Continue to have your own opinions about no matter what you like to write about in this world. Dont let any other tell you whats right or wrong or try to “teach” you what muslim women should or shouldnt.
    Big Hug, from an artist

    Reply

  12. Tanu
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 10:55:41

    Well written!!
    however, I think it is quite sad that a muslim child finds the veil scary, I think the muslims first need to understand what it represents and why some women choose it for it not to be something “alien” or “extreme”…
    Personally I dont cover my face nor would consider doing it but if we can’t see beyond it, how do we expect others to do so?

    Reply

  13. Sarah Ben Ammar
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 16:19:17

    I agree with your aunt. You deserve 10/10!!
    Sarah, Paris

    Reply

  14. Kahn
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 23:40:27

    Assalamu alaykum little sis Aaliyah,
    Good to see you being concerned about the women covering their face !

    Here is what Yvonne Ridley said, “I get scared when I see drunken man in the street, so do we ban alcohol ? Of course, we don’t. I get scared sometimes when I see some people with tattoos on their face, not many but their are some who have these tattoos on their face….
    You know, you shouldn’t be judgemental !! If you’re scared of a mask, you know, what about BatMan ? What about the spider man ? What about your dentists ? What about your fire-man ? What about your surgeon ?” – [End quote]

    And, little sister in Islam, I have been veiling, when I go out, since I was 12 (that’s when I hadn’t even started the hijab at home).
    I cover my face for Allah, therefore it is easy for me to manage and deal with it. I can eat, drink and do everythin easily 🙂
    Because, my most beloved wives of the Prophet, the Mother of the Believers, were ordered to cover their faces as they are unlike any other woman, therefore I love to cover my face, too. We’ll be with those whom we imitate and love and I would love to be with the Mothers of the believers !! Yes 🙂

    Hope, to see your next post very soon, In sha ‘Allah 🙂
    Thanks for sharin your thoughts with us !!
    Take great care little sister in deen alIslam,
    Wassalamu alaykum waRahmatullahi waBarakatuhu

    Reply

  15. Gem Ibrahim
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 19:54:15

    I really liked reading your opinions on this Aaliyah. You are really honest and very smart. You are smart because you can see your feelings and these feelings to one side, to be able to talk with a sister in a face veil. This is a sign of maturity and intelligence, people can learn lots from you.

    Reply

  16. Mary
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 11:31:15

    I agree with your opinion. I wear niqab because I have to and I don’t like. Among other reasons I don’t like it because I believe it’s rude and dishonest to hide the face while seeing faces of others. I don’t like talking to other women in niqab, it’s very difficult to communicate with them because I can’t see their face expressions, I don’t like to approach them, maybe they are unfriendly under niqab but I can’t see that. Similarly, I feel shy talking to people when I have niqab on because I’m ashamed and awkward, I know my niqab is intimidating to them and makes it hard to understand me, to read my emotions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

